my LOVES and HATES for the golden globes

Would you believe that this celebrity obsessed loving girl almost forgot that the Golden Globe Awards were on last night? I attribute this to the amazing dinner the hubs and I had at home which took my mind off of just about everything (food does that to me, go figure). We’re trying to eat-in more ya know, ’cause of that whole recession thingy majig?

But, I managed to tune in just 20 minutes late and lasted until just before the announcement for best actress in a drama. Which royally pisses me off, because my favorite Kate Winslet won and gave one of the most down-to-earth, heart warming speeches. Every once in a while you get a movie star who really appreciates what’s been given to them. Kate, you are one of them.

Photo courtesy of Getty Images

Photo courtesy of Getty Images

For the full list of winners, go here.

But, who are we kidding, all we really care about is the fashion. Here are some of my LOVES and HATES of the night. Take ’em or leave ’em.

LOVES:

Photo courtesy of EW.com

Photo courtesy of EW.com

Angelina Jolie’s Versace gown. The hair, the makeup, it was all working for her! Bonus points for having Brad Pit as her arm candy…

HATES:

Photo courtesy of EW.com

Photo courtesy of EW.com

Renee Zellweger’s hideous attempt to be fashion forward. It’s Tammy Faye meets Cruella Deville. Gross.

LOVES:

Photo courtesy of EW.com

Photo courtesy of EW.com

America Ferrera. For many reasons but especially because she embraces her shape and dresses for her body type. Last night was no exception. Her dress was young, fun and grey – which seems to be a big trend for ’09.

HATES:

Photo courtesy of EW.com

Photo courtesy of EW.com

Drew Barrymore’s horrendous hair accompanied by that ugly powder blue dress. Someone got a bit too close to the light socket. Drew should fire her hairstylist. Immediately. 

LOVES:

Photo courtesy of EW.com

Photo courtesy of EW.com

How Isla Fisher works her red hair. She’s simply stunning. I’m excited to check out her new flick, Confessions of a Shopaholic. I still need to read the book!

HATES:

Photo courtesy of Socialite Life

Photo courtesy of Socialite Life

 Cameron Diaz’s dye job. Or lack there of. I’m all about two-tones but this is wrong. W.R.O.N.G. And that dress is so unflattering, draping in all the wrong places. Here’s where I’ll give her a couple of points – those shoes are FIERCE!

So, what did you think of the show? Who am I missing on my list?

~ by etrevallion on January 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
