jumping on the bandwagon

OK. I know it’s already the 6th and I should have had my relections on ’08/resolutions for ’09 post done a week ago. But, give this girl a break. I was in a food coma for two weeks and was NOT happy about coming out of it.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy for the New Year. Something about January 1st just makes me want to be a better person (translation: be less of a bitch). 2008 was a great year for me:

  • I got married to my best friend on one of THE hottest days in June, surrounded by family and friends. Most importantly, my loving dad and mom – who struggled with cancer all year and looked drop dead gorgeous at the wedding. I’m so proud of her for all she has overcome.
  • I bought a house! And despite the mild panic attacks when the mortgage bill, heating bill and electric bill arrive all on the same day, it has been the most amazing experience.
  • I traveled (Punta Cana, Los Angeles, NYC). Not as much as I wanted to but given the economy, I consider myself to be pretty lucky.
  • I became an aunt
  • And I watched three of my very dear friends get married to their soul mates.

All and all, a pretty good year wouldn’t you say? That last point reminds me – Bride Wars with Anne Hathaway and Kate Hudson comes out on Friday and I am SO EXCITED!

Photo courtesy of PEOPLE.com

Photo courtesy of PEOPLE.com

Granted, I would be regardless because I happen to love any movie scrip Anne and Kate touch (yes, we’re on a first name basis. I’m sure they read this blog.) but the fact that I, along with three of my friends, planned and participated in each other’s weddings this year makes this all the sweeter. Sure, I never dyed anyone’s hair blue, but there were definitely times when I thought I might lose my mind. The hubs has refused to go see this with me. I’m attributing this to the fact that he’s wedding’ed out too and not that he is refusing to see a chick flick. Anyone up for a movie date?

Photo courtesy of Wikipedia

Photo courtesy of Wikipedia

Back to the reflection. I thought long and hard about whether I should make a resolution for 2009. Keeping in mind that I am my WORST critic, I thought it wasn’t fair to set myself up for potential failure. But then, what fun would life be if we did that? Plus, some of my favorite bloggers have set some pretty fantastic goals for the year.

I’ve thought about making a resolution to lose weight (lord knows I need to. I know there is the freshman 15 but what about the post-bride 20?), making a resolution to stress less about the little things,  and make it a priority to say “no” more often so as to not overwhelm myself. And then it occurred to me – doesn’t this all fall under the umbrella of taking better care of myself?

So, that’s my goal for 2009. As Sally Field would say, I’ve got this one body and this one…well, you know. Anyone else have a resolution (resolutionS for you overachiever types)? 🙂

~ by etrevallion on January 6, 2009.

2 Responses to “jumping on the bandwagon”

  1. getting married AND buying a house in one year. my hats off to you. (cos i was lucky i STAYED married after the stresses of buying a house) lol. just kidding. cos he reminds me of noah from the notebook when he works on house stuff. swoon.

  2. Wow, you had a busy year! Out of curiosity, what did you think of Punta Cana? Went there last year and wasn’t so wild about it…

    Also, I can’t wait to see Bride Wars, too! Though I’m leaving town on Friday, so it will have to wait till I get back, boohoo.

Leave a Reply

 
