dr. burke speaks!

An update on the saga of Isaiah Washington on Grey’s Anatomy. Isaiah spoke with Entertainment Weekly exclusively regarding being let go on the hit ABC show and what’s next for his career. See details below.

ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY: How are you feeling about what happened last week? Did you think it was fair?

ISAIAH WASHINGTON: I don’t know if it’s a question of ”fair.” I’m saddened by the outcome. I did everything that the producers and the network asked me to do. I came back under great duress and stress, and thought I was doing the job I was hired to do. I thought that was going to speak for my future at Grey’s, but apparently that wasn’t the same vision that the network and studio had for me.

Have you heard from many of your castmates?

No. Everyone is still on vacation. I don’t expect to hear from my castmates. I did talk to Chandra Wilson and I got a text message from Kate Walsh. Everyone’s doing their own thing. People are still trying to enjoy their summer before they get back to the grind. I think a lot of people are out of the country. I’m still getting calls from people discovering that this change has occurred.

Would you consider you and T.R. Knight to be on good terms?

I don’t know. You have to ask T.R. that.

How do you think this is going to affect your career?

I’m working right now [on the indie film, The Least of These]. I can only take one day at a time. I can only apologize so many times. I can only accept so much responsibility. All the players involved have taken care of what we needed to take care of in-house — and the media took it in a different direction. I hope that everyone is happy for the outcome for Isaiah, but Isaiah will go on and do what I love to do. And I have to go about the business of letting people know what’s written about me is not the truth.

~ by etrevallion on June 13, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
